Michigan Ross iMpact

Leading in Thought & Action

Managing Your Mediasite Recordings

Recordings done using the Mediasite hardware are stored online. They are meant to stay there--in other words, you don't usually download the content and distribute the video yourself (although, there is a way to do so).  Since Mediasite not only records the content, but also manages and hosts it, it also serves as a means of distribution. The only thing you need to distribute is a link.

Every person at Ross has a personal folder in the Mediasite system where their recordings are stored. By default, no one else can see them, so it's necessary after you're finished recording to log on and make it viewable.  The following will outline how to do this, and explain how to change some common settings to control the viewability of your recordings so you can control who has permission to watch it.

 

Logging in to the Management Portal

To retrieve and manage the recording, you'll need to log into the Mediasite Management Portal by visiting the following link. We'd recommend bookmarking the link, so you can easily return:

http://rossmedia.bus.umich.edu/rossmedia/manage

Log in using the typical UM credentials: your uniqname and password.

 

Where Your Recordings Are Stored

 
Folders within Mediasite are just like folders on your computer, and contain your recorded presentations. You should see your own folder within the "Faculty and Staff Presentations" folder.  You can navigate the folder structure by expanding or collapsing them using the folder tree on the left side of the window.

Clicking on your folder will display all of the recordings inside, in the panel to the left of the folder list.

You can create separate folders inside of your own for different purposes. Doing so has no effect on how the recording is viewed by others (unless you're creating catalogs; see next section), it is simply a way to keep yourself organized. All future recordings, no matter what, will always be saved directly to your main folder.

Commonly, lecturers will create many subfolders, one for each class.  They'll then drag and drop the recordings from their main folder into the various subfolders.

You also have the option of renaming your recordings and folder by right-clicking on them.

Lastly, you can delete any of your recordings or folder by clicking, holding, and dragging it into the Recycle Bin, as shown on the bottom in the photo at right.

 

Making Recordings "Viewable"

By default, any recording you make will have it's status set to "Offline."  Before you can distribute a link out for others to watch, you must change this setting to "Viewable," otherwise those who click the link will not see anything.

First, click into your folder, and put a check mark next to the title of the recording you want to make viewable. You can select multiple recordings at once, if necessary.

Next, click into the "Edit" dropdown menu and choose "Presentation."

In the window that appears, select "Viewable" from the "Status" dropdown menu, and then click "Save."

 

Changing Security Settings (to Limit Your Audience)

By default, even after setting your recording to "Viewable," your recording will be behind a log-in prompt that only UM-affiliated people can access (with their uniqname and password).  You have the option of removing this security setting, thereby allowing anyone to view it, or restrict it further.

To modify these security settings, click on the title of the recording in order to open up the control panel for that particular video. Then, click "Security."

In the Security settings window, you may notice along the top that "Permissions are currently being inherited from the folder." This means that you can control the security settings of your main folder (or any subfolder therein) and set permissions for the folder, which would affect all video presentations inside the folder.

In this example, though, we want to modify the security settings of this one particular video. So you'll want to click the text "Click here to edit permissions" in order to change the settings for the presentation, as seen below.

If you only want UM-affiliated people (such as students) to have permission to view the presentation, enter "AuthenticatedUsers" in the "Add people or groups" box, and then set the role as "Viewer," and then click "Add." Requiring viewers to log in also means you'll be able to track who has watched the presentation and when.

If you desire Non-UM people to be able to view the video, or just want people to be able to open the presentation without having to go through any kind of authentication, type "Everyone" in the "Add people or groups" box, set the role as "Viewer", and click "Add." Then, click "Save" in the upper right corner.

 

If you want to further restrict who has permissions to view your presentation, you can enter names into the "Add people or groups" box in the previous step, as illustrated in the example below. Be sure you set their permissions at the appropriate level.

 

Though you can assign roles yourself, some will already be shown under "Who has access".  These include Classroom Support Administrators, MediasiteAdministrators, and Business School Administrators.  Leave these alone.  They're required for the recording and system to operate correctly.

After following the instructions on this page, your recording will be viewable. See the next section, "Sharing Your Mediasite Recordings" (using the link in the side-bar), to learn how to distribute the content to potential viewers.